Tag Archives: Databases

Read Your Favorite Magazines on Flipster

Browse your favorite magazines online through the library’s Flipster database – Ebony, Glamour, Bon Appetit, Rolling Stone, GQ, Wired and more.

flipster
Magazines in this images are not necessarily available to Dominican. Image from https://www.stthomas.edu/libraries/articles/flipster/.

Magazines can be downloaded to Android and Apple devices and Kindle Fire tablets for offline reading anytime, anywhere.

Access Flipster through the library’s A-Z list of databases.

Learn more about Flipster in this video.

Advertisements

EBSCO Database Issues and Workaround

We are still experiencing firewall issues with our EBSCO databases (Academic Search Complete, Communication and Mass Media Complete, and others) and are working to correct the problem.

If you use more than one search term you may get a connection error and will not get your list of articles.  This seems to only happen on campus.

As a temporary workaround, you can change the Search Modes option on the Advanced Search Screen.  Under Search Modes, choose Boolean/Phrase.  Then type your multiple search terms in one search box above.  See the image below.

Thank you for your patience.  Databases from ProQuest and other vendors are working normally.

EBSCO

RefWorks Workshops for Spring

refworks-logo1.jpg

If you’re not using RefWorks, you’re working too hard!
Spare yourself the headache and join us for a RefWorks workshop.
RefWorks Basics Workshops
  • Wednesday, February 6th: 6:00 – 7:00 p.m.
  • Monday, February 11th: 12:00 – 1:00 p.m.
  • Thursday, February 28th: 6:00 – 7:00 p.m.
  • Tuesday, March 11th: 4:30 – 5:30 p.m.

RefWorks Advanced Workshops
(Attendance at prior RefWorks Workshop strongly recommended)

  • Monday, March 17th: 12:00 – 1:00 p.m.
  • Wednesday, March 26th: 4:30 – 5:30 p.m.

* Dominican email account is required
* All workshops held in Crown 111
* Refreshments will be provided
* No registration necessary

Example paper for workshops: sample-paper.doc

Directory of Open Access Journals

Open access journals are those journals that do not charge any subscription fees for users. Many are available electronically. Users are free to access, download and print articles for free.

The Directory of Open Access Journals contains links to almost 3000 free scholarly online journals in all disciplines. Every journal in the Directory employs an editorial board or a peer-review system to control the quality of its contents. Users can access journals as soon as they are placed in the Directory – no delay of a month or more like many subscription-based journals. One can browse journals by discipline or search for articles on specific topics.

The Directory of Open Access Journals is available in the A-Z List of Databases on the Library’s Web site or at http://www.doaj.org/

doaj.jpg

RefWorks Workshop

refworks-logo.jpg

If you’re not using RefWorks, you’re working too hard!
Spare yourself the headache and join us for a RefWorks workshop.

Come to one of the workshops:

Mon., Sept.10th: 6:00 – 7:00 pm
OR
Thurs., Sept. 27th: 12:30-1:30 pm

* Dominican email account is required
* All workshops held in Crown 111
* Refreshments will be provided
* No registration necessary

Example paper for workshops: sample-paper.doc